BBB Sponsor

Bass Tackle at Guaranteed Lowest Prices

BBB Sponsors

Authorized AMSOIL Dealer

Your best choice for the Primary Tackle you need!

Fishing Tackle With Guaranteed Best Price!

Garmin Marine Electronics

* Who's Online

• Dot Guests: 280
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Author Topic: Newbie to bait making can i get some advice  (Read 24693 times)

Offline nitrobassboater

• Guppy
  • BassBoatBoards.com Rocks!
  • Referrals: 0
Newbie to bait making can i get some advice
« on: November 28, 2015, 04:13:03 PM »
Hey everyone I am a newbie to making bait.  I have fished and fished for 30 years and I am wanting to get into making my own baits.  I am looking to get a lead melting pot the LEEs production pot.  It was a toss up between that and the hot pot that you can pour out of.  The only reason i went with the LEEs production pot is because it is only 4 bucks difference. 

I want to start out by pouring my own jigs.  I use jigs a lot and at the same time lose them as much since I get into so crazy cover.  I thought this may help save a few bucks as well as how cool is it to catch all your bass in a tourney on your own home made jig. 

So since I am new I have a few questions.  How much lead would you melt if you are pouring say 10 - 15 jigs?  Just some 1/2 to 3/4 oz flip jigs.  If i melt to much do I just make some new lead blocks for the next time?

Any recommendations on certain jig molds to get to get started?  I flip a lot and use shaky heads as well.  Would like to get into some underspins and other jigs later on.

Any tips you can give me as I get started on this addictive part of this already addictive sport.

jesse

Offline Jig Man

• Largemouth Bass
Re: Newbie to bait making can i get some advice
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2015, 09:37:01 PM »
Welcome to the forum.