BBB Sponsor

Bass Tackle at Guaranteed Lowest Prices

BBB Sponsors

Authorized AMSOIL Dealer

Your best choice for the Primary Tackle you need!

Fishing Tackle With Guaranteed Best Price!

Garmin Marine Electronics

* Who's Online

• Dot Guests: 191
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

Author Topic: BPS house brand line...  (Read 8006 times)

Offline RedAllison

• Smallmouth Bass
  • Referrals: 0
  • My Biggest Bass: 9#13oz. Mar/04, MS. Jig&pig
BPS house brand line...
« on: February 20, 2015, 01:07:53 AM »
I've got over 40 rodsNreels between all my bass, crappie and "buds/guest" rigs I keep around so annual line replacement CAN add up!  (whew) What I decided to do several years ago was switch to the BPS Excel for all of my monofilament. (I have the bulk spools of the clear mono in 6 thru 17# sizes). I've been using this stuff for now probably 6-7 years and I've had ZERO problems with it. I was told years ago that BPS Excel is contracted thru Berkley/Stren anyway, before that I mainly used Stren for nearly 20yrs and tried Suffix a few times before switching all the way to Excel.

I use Floro on about 6 rodsNreels (mainly my bottom bumpers/jig/plastics rigs but I have used it on a few crankin rigs as well). When I switched to Excel mono I likewise began using BPS XPS Floro (which sure looked like Seguar's spool and line!). For bottom bumping I use 17 & 20# sizes. For cranking I used 10 & 12# sizes. I pretty much never use braid anymore because floro is nearly as sensitive, has low stretch as well and the thing I REALLY like is it's invisible! This year I've gone even cheaper and decided to spool up my floro rigs with Spiderwire EZ Fluoro from Wallyworld. I've only fished with it a few times in my farm lake but so far it's been as good as the XPS. I'll wait until the fall and a full season before making a "ya or nay" recommendation on this line!